Posted by: stuartbond | November 20, 2009

Brochures are a Dynamic Process

After making my very own homemade-from-scratch brochure for my publications class, I have learned the techniques and key strokes it takes to design a tri-fold brochure for a client.  Brochure design goes well beyond just using the software and your mouse to make an appealing product; there are elements to keep in mind.

One of the biggest elements to keep in mind is your audience.  Who will be reading or holding your brochure?  A practitioner, in any field, making a brochure must always keep their brochure’s intended audience in the forefront while making their brochure.  While making my brochure this past week, I found myself constantly asking questions such as: What fonts and font colors should I use to get my brochure’s message through to my audience?  How should I shape my layout to fit my audience?  and What is my brochure trying to do, what message am I trying to send, what does my client expect?

It is also important to keep your client in mind!  While designing my brochure, I made sure to keep my client’s intentions in mind.  Making a brochure can be fun as well as challenging; however, do not allow such distractions to cloud your task.  Just like tailoring your message to your audience, you must also tailor your message back to your client’s wishes, mission, or goals.  You may have the most appealing brochure on the planet but none of it matters when your message is not correct.

Fortunately, I have found a site for those new to making brochures, just as I was last week.  This website can help spark new and creative ideas for when you get a creative thinking brain lock.  Use this website for design templates and design ideas as well.  http://www.allgraphicdesign.com/graphicdesignarticles/brochuresgraphicdesign/brochureprintingideas.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

