Posted by: stuartbond | October 26, 2009

“The Language of the Image”…well worth your time.

No one public relations practitioner, journalist, or photographer knows all there is to know about their specific field.  This is why I believe the need for continuing one’s education is well worth one’s own time and effort.  Rather volunteering to continue education or being instructed to do so, the pay off is well worth the time.  I was shown an online course to teach “newbies” the tricks of the trade of photography as well as to serve as a reminder or continuing education tool to such practitioners.  I am one such “newbie” but completed the course with new and valuable information.

The course taught me the various elements of a successful photo.  From describing the elements of light, emotion, placement, and mood, I was given a professional lesson that will prove useful.  I learned how to dissect a photo to evaluate its success or reasons for failure.  I left the course knowing how many elements incorporate just one photo.  For instance, did you know that the lighting, or lack thereof, greatly affects the photo’s mood, emotion, and transition?  I also learned how much a photo can either tell a story, substantiate a story, or add to a story by providing real-time emotion.

What did surprise me exactly how many elements a practitioner must keep in mind to successfully snap an effective photo.  After taking the course, I was surprised to learn the difficulty a successful photographer faces.  What was most surprising, to me, was the idea that photographers also have options.  They can play around with the various elements to sculpt and capture a successful image.

I would like to learn more about how I can physically learn to incorporate these elements into my own photography.  I would also like to learn more about how I can incorporate what was taught in the course into my own public relations experience.

I recommend this course to students or active practitioners because there is no substitute for continuing one’s education.  Attached is the link to the free course.  This is an excellent way to improve your practices!

http://www.newsu.org/

Leave a Reply

Categories

